Conservapedia

 

I haven’t heard about this website until today, but I do find it interesting and thought it would be worth a mention on this blog, since we are committed to searching for and commenting on the truth in politics.

I like Wikipedia and I use it now and then to find a little information on various topics.  I particularly like the external links that appear at the bottom of most of the entries, because I learned the hard way that a lot of the information posted in each entry is false and/or biased.  For example I posted an entry on my other blog quite a while ago about Rotoshop, and I was slammed for having inaccurate information on it, which I received and linked from Wikipedia.  Oops.

I think conservapedia will be an interesting resource, and I think that by trying to push the biased and opinionated material to a different section of the site, it preserves the integrity of the content without slipping into censorship.  Based on the theory the webmasters lay out regarding the site, the site sounds great, but in practice it could be completely different.  Also, a lot of the entries lack information currently, but that is because the site is relatively new and with increased exposure more info will be posted. 

I really like the concept of the site.  Obviously this is only going to really appeal to those of us right of center, because liberals really like to shape history in their own media institutions, no matter how wrong they are.  It will be interesting to see if this site lives up to its claims and if it will be successful.  I guess we’ll have to use it and find out, but anything that gets the liberals riled up into full shriek mode can’t be half bad:)

Explore posts in the same categories: Media, News, Politics, Technology

3 Comments on “Conservapedia”

  1. Jon Swift Says:

    The site has already surpassed expectations as you can see by the examples I cite here:
    http://jonswift.blogspot.com/2007/02/conservapedia.html


  2. Thanks for posting Jon. I’m looking forward to using conservapedia more.

    By the way, I had to edit your link because it wasn’t working. I have it going now though:)

  3. BB-Idaho Says:

    Heh, I thought the days of separate but equal facilities were past!!


Leave a Reply

